Green Sauce Chicken Enchiladas Recipe…

I know I haven’t posted since I got back a few weeks ago. I’m so sorry for that. Oh my dear God, it’s been hectic around here. With my vehicle still out of commission, the kids going back to school and trying to get the house in order I haven’t had alot of time to do much of what I want to do. I did manage to work on these photos and the recipe for this dinner tho! YAY!!

Me: 1 Life: too many to count

GrnSauceChknNchlds1

Hrm, what can I say about this dinner other then it’s super delish! The original recipe I found in a grocery store we have down here called HEB. I have changed/tweaked it a bit and here is the result. Make some re-fried beans and some mexican rice and you will have a fabulous Tex-Mex meal. This meal isn’t super healthy, cause frankly I eat what tastes good and if it’s healthy YAY if not, eh it TASTED GOOD!!

The recipe calls for green chili enchilada sauce. There are two brands I can attest for- Cookwell & Co., which makes a DAMN GOOD product called Two-Step Green Chile Stew Mix, or a grocery store brand from Kroger’s called Green Chili Enchilada Sauce. I didn’t grab a jar of the Cookwell’s but here is there website page so you can see what it looks like here. And the Kroger’s brand looks like this, if you have one near you.

Image

I don’t know about any other brands since these are pretty easy for me to get and I’m happy with how my enchiladas turn out, I haven’t tried any others.

I use Tyson can chicken cause honestly it’s easy and fast.

Image

All the good stuff mixed together and the smell of the fresh cilantro is just *long sniff* so wonderful…

Image

Rolled flour tortillas…

Image

Right before it goes into the oven…

Image

This is my tasty chicken enchiladas look like…

Image

Have I enticed you enough? This recipe really is quite easy and very tasty.

Green Sauce Chicken Enchiladas

1 pkg. 20 count flour tortillas
1 large tomato, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
½ cup fresh cilantro, chopped
2 cans (12.5 oz each) chunk chicken
3 cups Colby jack cheese (mild cheddar & jack), plus extra for topping
1 (16 oz.) green chili enchilada sauce (I use Kroger’s brand or Cookwell & Co. if you can find it)

Heat oven to 350F. Spray a 9×13 (3 qt.) baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.
Mix tomato, onion, cilantro, chicken and cheese in a large bowl.
Add and stir in ½ the jar of enchilada sauce.
Place 1 heaping teaspoon of chicken mixture in each tortilla and roll tightly. Place in the baking dish seam side down.
Once all tortillas (approximately 12) are rolled and in the dish, pour remaining sauce evenly over the rolled up tortillas. Cover with extra cheese as desired.
Bake uncovered for 20 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and tortillas are golden.

For those who want to save/print this recipe, I have it up here.

We know longer have the sale going on at our shop on Etsy, but there are still some beautiful things for sale. And keep a look out for some holiday themed stuff that I’m working on. Halloween will be here quicker then we know it, then Thanksgiving and in no time BAM! Christmas.

Thanks for coming by and ’til next time…~Kells

About we3creations

I design jewelry for We3 Creations, a great little Etsy shop that has all different styles with something everyone can love. I'm the mother of two very amazing teenagers who love to keep me busy. I love to cook, especially baking, read and create crafty things in general. I am obsessed with music, art and addictive tv shows. I try and live each day as best I can, it is a blessing.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment