Chocolate Banana Bread Recipe…

I have a wonderful recipe I want to share today. I’ve been making it since my kid’s were just toddlers and they still get excited when I make this and they are teens now. It all started when the eldest was watching Blue’s Clues, back when Steve was on there, and the episode had Steve making banana bread with Blue. My eldest decided she wanted to make some too and asked if we could. I found the recipe on Nickolodeon’s site and we’ve been making it ever since, but I’ve modified it over the years and this is the recipe we are happy with. Doesn’t it look yummy? I add a little bit of butter on it while it’s still warm, so sweet and slightly salty. Divine.

Chocolate Banana Bread

Here is the ingredients, tho I forgot to add the Baker’s Joy cooking spray before I took the pic. DOH! But everything else you need is in the pic.

IMG_0442

Here’s a fun trick for measuring flour. Take the flat part of a knife and swipe it across, easily getting rid of the extra so you have the right amount. Here is my lovely assistant/cohort/shadow/daughter helping me make the banana bread. She’s so helpful.

IMG_0443

I used three loaf pans for one batch. One went to some friends that day. The rest was for us.

IMG_0444

Here is the size of the pans. I used disposable ones cause it was just easier, especially since we were gifting one.

IMG_0447

Here is the yummy recipe. If you love banana and chocolate you have to make this. And if you don’t like chocolate, you can always substitute it for caramel or butterscotch chips or even omit the chips altogether. The banana bread is just as great without the fancy extra of chips.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

(Based off Blue’s Clues Recipe)

1 cup sugar

1 stick margarine (room temp)

2 eggs

1 tsp. baking soda

2 cups flour

2 tsp. vanilla

dash of salt

3 ripe medium bananas, mashed

1 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Pam baking spray

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray loaf or muffin pan  with Pam or Baker’s Joy. If you don’t have either you can use butter or margarine to lightly grease then flour the pan.

Beat the sugar and margarine with a mixer. When it’s creamy add the eggs, baking soda, flour, vanilla, salt and bananas. Mix well. The mix might have a few lumps of banana, that’s fine. Then gently fold in the chocolate chips. Pour the banana bread mixture into the already prepared pans. Bake for about 18-22 minutes, depending on your oven. As long as the top is golden brown and a toothpick pushed into the middle of the bread comes out clean, your bread is done.

If you’d like to save this recipe to your computer or to print it easier I have a download here on google docs. Also, in case you didn’t see the other post, the Etsy shop is having a sale right now! Get 20% off, just add the code SUMMERSALE in the coupon box before you checkout to apply the discount. Hurry tho, the sale is now thru the 23rd. Our Etsy shop is here and follow us on Facebook here if you haven’t already.

Thanks for coming by and ’til next time…~Kells

About we3creations

I design jewelry for We3 Creations, a great little Etsy shop that has all different styles with something everyone can love. I'm the mother of two very amazing teenagers who love to keep me busy. I love to cook, especially baking, read and create crafty things in general. I am obsessed with music, art and addictive tv shows. I try and live each day as best I can, it is a blessing.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Banana Bread Recipe…

  1. Looks amazing! Do you think it would work with stevia or dates instead of sugar? 🙂

Leave a Reply

